Man Utd goalkeeper De Gea prefers trophies over individual awards

Man Utd goalkeeper De Gea prefers trophies over individual awards

Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane, Jan Vertonghen and Christian Eriksen were also selected, as were Manchester United's David De Gea and Chelsea's Marcos Alonso. Despite being second in the league no outfield Manchester United players joined goalkeeper David De Gea in the the team of the year.

The PFA Team of the Year selection is rarely without controversy and this year's edition is no different.

English Premier League top scorer Mohamed Salah has been named in the Professional Footballers' Association Premier League Team of the Year.

We look at the reaction to the PFA team announced today.

Marcos Alonso hasn't been able to replicate the form of his debut season with Chelsea way off the pace this year. The Player of the Year award is expected to go to either Salah or De Bruyne. And Aguero has enjoyed another fine season scoring 30 in all competitions, including 21 in the Premier League alone.

Manchester City and De Bruyne, in particular, has been a model of consistency from the first game of the Premier League season until they secured their title last weekend with five games to spare.

Aguero, who will miss the rest of the season after knee surgery, became City's all-time leading goalscorer this term and he is now just one away from 200 strikes for the club after another typically prolific campaign.